Return to St. George Absinthe Verte (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 2
Previous   


  2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Overpriced and Overrated March 1, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from NY Metro Area United States  
I've been enjoying absinthe for years now and have been fortunate enough to try most available brands and even vintage on a couple of occasions. St. George suffers from having too much star anise, which makes it resemble a high quality pastis more than an authentic absinthe. I'd heard great things about it and was very disappointed. Many of the other brands available here are far superior: Emile Pernot, Lucid, Nouvelle Orleans, and La Charlotte to name a few.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
not your average absinthe January 29, 2009
Reviewer: peter  wilhelm from torrington, CT United States  
I love this absinthe even though it strays from the norm. Some knock it due to it's irregular herbal ingredients, but it louches pleasantly and tastes fantastic.
I've gone through quite a few bottles of it now and it will remain a staple in my cabinet.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great!!! October 13, 2008
Reviewer: Christopher Lovell from Seatac, WA United States  
Thank goodness for Absinthe finally being available in the US our little hobby was getting quite expensive.  This was only our 3rd bottle and it was the best by far.  First was La Fee Parisian never again, then we got a Le Cladistine La Blue and wow! We found that we are both la blanc fans.  We ordered this and the Kubler and I enjoyed this much better.  My friend is not a Brandy fan so he didn't care for it much the first night, but the second night it was all he drank.  I am not sure if it has just having the bottle open for a day or having him try it before drinking the Kubler this night.  Either way we both really enjoyed it the second evening.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
A Real Winner for the US July 18, 2008
Reviewer: Jack from Cactuscountry from Scottsdale, AZ United States  
My hobby is trying different brands of absinthe (St Georges' is #76) and I'm very pleased with it. It has a complex flavor that at the same time is on the mild side, by no means overpowering. The louche is very thick and opaque. Both of these qualities are to be found in wine based absinthes, which the best absinthes of the 1800's were made from. I think my favorite quality of this absinthe is the incredibly creamy mouth-feel that it has. One of the best. Wether your a novice or an expirienced absintheur, I would highly recommend this one. I'm giving it 4 stars based on my overall expirience with absinthe, but if I were judging it solely on US absinthes I'd give it 5 stars. My hat's off the the guys at St Georges' Distillery. They've got a real winner here!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Incredible June 27, 2008
Reviewer: Jim Brady from Pawleys Island, SC United States  
If I were a rich man this is all I'd ever buy. Beautiful color in the bottle, fantastic louche, a wonderful flavor. Talk about a bouquet ! The more I drink, the more flavors I pick out. The brandy base and the herb mixture is what sets this apart. And the monkey on the bottle is a hoot.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best in the US So Far June 6, 2008
Reviewer: T Bone from United States  
Yeah, baby!  This is one complex absinthe.  Or at least the American adaptation.   Balanced blend of wormword, herbs, and spices.  Nothing overpowering if you might just happen to try it straight.  ;-)  Must be the brandy.  Louche is nice with a lemony aftertaste.  If you have the extra money, definitely pick this one up.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best "legal" absinthe available yet June 5, 2008
Reviewer: Jason  from Nixa, MO United States  
I have tried Kubler and Lucid as well, along with a few European absinthes. St. George is leagues above Lucid or Kubler. It has a natural green color that louches beautifully. The flavor is complex and refreshing, anise and herbally.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
A good, unique absinthe. June 5, 2008
Reviewer: Jeffrey Eide from Billings, MT United States  
This is the third bottle of absinthe I've owned (the other two being Lucid (I'd give it a 3 out of 5) and the Kubler (which I'd give a 3.5-4 out of 5)), and its actually my favorite of the three. The brandy gives it a unique flavor, so I'm glad the anise isn't too overpowering. The color is absolutely gorgeous, and the louche is very nice. The extra money is well worth it for what I find to be the best "legal" absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous