Return to Philadelphia Distilling "Vieux Carre" Absinthe Superieure (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
DrinkUpNY Rules! June 1, 2010
Reviewer: Galo Carrillo from Miami, FL United States  
This is my first bottle on DrinkUpNY!...
The customer service is very very very good!
The packaging is perfect and safe.
The quality of the products.... AWESOME!
And The Vieux Carré Absinthe... I have no words to explain my happyness ;)
Thanks a lot Guys of DrinkUpNY

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Pleasantly Spicey February 2, 2010
Reviewer: John Hollan from Jacksonville, FL United States  
Though this lacks some of the kick found in some strongs, the falvour is complex and very enjoyable. The color is a bit dirty to start with and brings out an almost brown louche, the aroma is spicey and strong. I will certainly order Vieux Caree again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
A very nice absinthe December 30, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Yorktown Heights, NY United States  
While it's not strictly traditional, Vieux Carre is a delightful and refreshing absinthe at a very good price. It has a lot more citrus up front than most brands that are based on traditional recipes, and the flavor is somewhat less earthy and herbal. A great value.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
The best value on the market October 2, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
In terms of cost/quality, there isn't a better value IMHO.  There is a nice depth of flavors in there, with genepi and spearmint complimenting traditional absinthe ingredients.  The only flaws would be more sediment than you will find in most bottles, and that it's a bit delicate, as finding the ideal absinthe/water ratio doesn't leave much margin for error.  Find that ratio though, and you will have found yourself a delightful beverage.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Another great absinthe from the U.S. September 26, 2009
Reviewer: Wilson Phillips from Natchez, MS United States  
This is one that deserves a spot in your collection. A little sweeter than most. No need to add any sugar.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Vieux Carre is really good September 3, 2009
Reviewer: Erich Wiener from Philly, PA  
I normally drink scotch, this is only the second absinthe I've had, and no doubt it kicks the first to the curb (Grande Absente). I found out (buy reading the bottle) that the latter is artificially colored with yellow five (the stuff that gives Mt. Dew its color), and it has an over powering taste of anise and is made with oils, not real herbs like it should be. This absinthe was handed to me by a friend, and WOW. It has a nicely balanced flavor and a nice natural green color, Makes me want to try even more different brands. Unlike the first one which made me despise the stuff (it tasted like liquid death). I could see myself drinking this regularly, and the fact I'm a Philly local makes it that much Cooler (lol). I recommend this to any first time absinthe drinker, it good, really good.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
A good first effort July 14, 2009
Reviewer: Benjamin Lopez from The Absinthe Review Network  
If you liked their gin, you may want to try thier absinthe as well.  While I don't hold it in the same regard as Bluecoat Gin, this is commendable as a first effort.  

There's plenty of genepy, anise, and lemon balm with a candy-like sweetness.  I do enjoy it, but there's too much emphasis on sweetness, and very little contrast into the finish.  Wormwood, which should always be in a measure that it can be picked out, is lost in the background, sadly.  Slightly convoluted character.

Overall, it is an easy sipper that will do your liquor cabinet justice, but it likely won't be the first one you'll reach for after a long day.

The full review with detailed scoring (along with a liberal dose of humour) can be found at The Absinthe Review Network website.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent absinth, ignore the snobs. July 5, 2009
Reviewer: atom from VA, United States  
I've had several absinths now, mostly from the United States.  You should know that the absinthe community has a lot of snobs.  

I will say, this absinthe is *slightly* minty, but still maintains an EXCELLENT balance of the wormwood and anise.  The best thing that I enjoyed about this absinthe was the slightly "earthy" flavor, you can taste a slight, "green" freshness.

Try this absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
best American-made absinthe i've had June 27, 2009
Reviewer: PGH. Sinthe from Pittsburgh, PA United States  
Organic herbs, a beautiful natural green/jade color, expansive aromas of mint and the rest of the absinthe herbs .  Made in Pennsylvania by same distiller that makes 'Bluecoat' gin(which is a top-shelf gin in itself ...)
I have not tried the Delaware Phoenix nor Pacifique absinthes yet but I suspect this one is just as good as much less cost ...
Highly recommended and definetly a BEST BUY / BARGAIN !!!



Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Among the best... May 20, 2009
Reviewer: JB from New Hope, PA United States  
I'd put VC in the "best of the best" category without reservation.  Does it have the allure, or that extra micron of complexity one would get with PF1901?  No, but it also doesn't cost $110 per bottle.  For about $50 per 750ml, this is by far the best buy out there.  This, coupled with the fact that Philadelphia Distillery went far above and beyond the call of duty when coming up with this one.  They searched all over for the best herbs, sent out samples to those in the absinthe community, consulted experts, etc.  This wasn't a shot in the dark like, for example, St. George.

In short, this is a fantastic drink, and to be frank anyone who doesn't appreciate it most likely doesn't appreciate absinthe.  That might sound like a sweeping generalization, but VC tastes like good absinthe should taste.  Check out reviews on www.wormwoodsociety.org and elsewhere, even the "experts" are giving it universally positive reviews.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items