Return to Marteau Master's Reserve Extrait D'Absinthe (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Spicey, complex, and sexy December 22, 2010
Reviewer: Michael McCullough from Oakley, CA United States  
Green chilies on the nose, very jalapeno like. Like a spicy ethnic meal. This is wonderful, one of the best noses I have witnessed in an absinthe. If you like complex and savory this is a must try. One of my all time favorites and a must have in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
4-5 stars depending on taste December 11, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Hate saying I find this less steller then everyone else. Obviously this product is the result of hard dedicated work & research. I prefer something where the wormwood flavor is more pronounced, maybe something a little more standard. This is very nice, but just not my personal favorite.
I've seen prettyier louche in other brands, but what counts is effect & taste.
However, I found this one more appealing with a little added sugar. This one has complexity!  The mintyness does not come across as mouthwashy. I would consider this the most versatile brand I have had, as with varying the amount of water or sugar different  flavors become more apparent, making this a  very fun one to explore. This one costs  more, but goes farther too.I'd reccomend trying this,particularly to those who may not like absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
I guess I'm in the minority here October 2, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I was extremely disappointed by this offering.  There was a very distracting taste in there I can only describe as metallic.  It was so distracting that I couldn't really focus on much else.  This is a perfect example of why one must try a product themselves instead of taking the word of others as gospel.  I know that some have motives for giving favorable reviews of certain products.  I give it 2 stars because I know it's a quality product, though I personally find it undrinkable.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
A tossup between this and the Pacifique July 5, 2009
Reviewer: atom from VA, United States  
Hmmm, if I had to choose, I would say this is only a *TAD* bit better than the Pacifique.

There is a bit of a rivalry between the two brands.........

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Truly Yummy :] May 27, 2009
Reviewer:   from New York,  NY USA  
Creamy and dreamy this absinthe is the closest I have ever had to pre-ban absinthes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Incredible Absinthe! April 24, 2009
Reviewer: Mattm3 from Orchard Park, NY United States  
After trying every absinthe on the market for the last 10 years, I have finally found my favorite!

This is a true absinthe in every way...

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Marteau is a true absinthe! March 24, 2009
Reviewer: Absinthe Lover from North Garden, VA United States  
From the first scent of the cork as you draw it from the bottle you begin to appreciate the time and effort Mr. Gwydion Stone devoted to his absinthe.    
 The color is a natural pale green which louches to a beautiful opaque cloudiness.  
 The bouquet of herbs is enticing and interesting- there is no overpowering scent of anise oil or menthol such as are apparent in lower grade offerings. The bouquet changes as you add ice water, which makes it interesting to pause and appreciate the evolving aroma as you prepare the absinthe.
 No expense was spared in the development of Marteau. All ingredients are of the highest quality, from the pure grape spirits to the herbs. The finest Spanish aniseed is used in Marteau, as opposed to the anise oil of lesser quality absinthe which imparts an unpleasant licorice candy flavor. Marteau's flavor is a complex herbal blend which is as interesting and pleasant as it's aroma.
 Marteau is a pleasure to enjoy and savor.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Determined March 21, 2009
Reviewer: ABSINTHE MINDED from ROMEOVILLE, IL United States  
It's hard to talk about this Absinthe without talking about Mr stone and his efforts.If you don't know his story seek it out.He is a champion for this our sin "absinthe"

What a wonderful visit to what it must have been like years ago.this is as about perfect when you are talking high end.This isn't some swill you throw back during a sporting event.only order this if you know what you are doing.Thank you Mr stone...More please

Was this review helpful to you?