Return to Duplais Swiss Absinthe Verte (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
my new favorite absinthe April 2, 2012
Reviewer: shan from TN United States  
i just tried the duplais over the weekend for the first time and i know it will be my brand from now on.  i've been drinking nothing but la fee for years and i knew there would be a big difference just when i uncorked the bottle and smelled the duplais for the first time.  it is much gentler than the la fee.  a friend and i finished the bottle and we were both pretty intoxicated, but it was so mellow and the whole evening had a very dreamy quality.  i thoroughly enjoyed it's flavor and louche and the effects.  and thanks to drink up ny for such grand service, as always.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Duplais December 11, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Other reviews are right, this one is wonderful.Any drawbacks here,are minor.
This is a delightful old world verte! I like it with a little sugar.
Price wise there are other brands that also are outstanding, & cost somewhat less. Mansinthe,LMV,& St G, for example.
I would'nt buy this every time, but would certainly reccomend it to anyone into absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
wonderful all-around verte December 3, 2009
Reviewer: Stanley P. Kachowski  
Initially somewhat harsh/edgy but it mellows after it's been opened/closed a few times to a nice well rounded and balanced verte ... nice mouth-numbing effect(the best absinthes you will find do this...)and a pleasant buzz ...Similar to Mansinthe(made by same people/distillery)-but-much much more complex and elegant in the finish, especially ... Fans of Mansinthe should definetly graduate/move on to this, it's in the same vein/taste profile ...Wish we could get the 'balance' version in the USA .. highly recommended !

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wow!! October 14, 2009
Reviewer: Tim from Palm Coast, FL United States  
Very nice absinthe, full of flavor.  The herbs used are of top quality, especially the wormwood used, great flavor and a nice sweet finish from the supporting cast of herbs.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fine Absinthe April 2, 2009
Reviewer: An admirer from New Mexico  
Duplais Verte is one of the best absinthe's available anywhere in the world. To say it is anything less, is absurd.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Duplias March 27, 2009
Reviewer: Sandy Anderson from Margate, FL United States  
Bad absinthe, try La Fee or Pernod WTF!?!?!? I just recieved my bottle of Duplias yesterday and think it's absolutely wonderful. The herbs are strong and balanced. The Louche was beautiful. Aroma inviting. The flavor left me wanting more. I think the person two below me either didnt louche this absinthe or really doesnt know what there talking about. La Fee and Pernod both color there "vertes" with yellow #5 and not green herbs. They seem to cater to those interested only in the "effects of absinthe". I suggest you try La Clandestine and Vieux Pontarlier before thinking those other less than worthy absinthes are worth purchasing again.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Superb March 3, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
The negative review here is nuts. The person clearly has very little experience with absinthe, as Pernod is very poor and La Fee is on the level of some of the best Spanish brands but is not a high-quality, authentic absinthe.

Having said that, I think this is one of the best absinthes on the market. It's complex, herbal and unique. I suspect there's some lemon balm in the mix, as it has a more citrus-y quality than most. Natural green color, beautiful louche. . .all in all, it's top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Not bad January 29, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
It's your typical Matter product.  Decent, but it has a certain taste in it, some describe it as a "funk".  It's very subtle, but it almost reminds me of bleach or chlorine.  Most people's palates probably won't even pick it up, unless perhaps you're looking for it.



Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good Stuff November 8, 2008
Reviewer: Wilson Phillips from Natchez, MS United States  
This is great quality absinthe. I have had this numerous times and I can hardly wait for it to be available on this side of the pond.

Was this review helpful to you?