Return to Emile Pernot "Vieux Pontarlier" Absinthe Francais Superieure (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great experience, great absinthe! May 19, 2014
Reviewer: Natalie Laffont from Miami Lakes, FL United States  
Like another reviewer, I also had a god-awful experience with OriginalAbsinthe.com (La Boheme, Ltd). Never received my products and it took me over 5 months to get a refund. After that nightmare of an ordeal, I was hesitant to even try to buy absinthe anywhere else. However, I can say gladly that DrinkUpNY was a pleasure to deal with. They answered all my emails right away and I received my order within 2 weeks. I bought this a gift for my significant other and he absolutely loved it. Thank you so much for such a pleasant and easy transaction.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Dark and decodent licorice December 22, 2010
Reviewer: Michael McCullough from Oakley, CA United States  
If you love pure dark licorice candies, then you will love this. This is the desert of absinthe for those who love licorice as I do. Wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Impressive. December 11, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
It's got the wormwood bite well proportioned, & the balance of the other herbs is.......just dreamy.
If you like Obsello or Mansinthe you are sure to enjoy this.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Impressive February 4, 2010
Reviewer: Chris Henderson from Saratoga Springs, NY United States  
This reminded me of Kubler in that it has that earthy note you get from really good black licorice, the kind that's almost green on the inside when you bite into it. I suspect the "overripe banana" comes courtesy of the brandy base. Grain spirits are more crisp, but I find them boring by comparison. Try this next to Kubler and you'll see what I mean. Kubler is a fne product, but this delivers on promise Kubler never knew it had.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Vieux Pontarlier May 9, 2009
Reviewer: robert keller from philadelphia, PA United States  
This is the best absinthe I have ever had. I have had many from drink up NY and this tops them all I only hope it will be back in stock soon.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Top Notch March 2, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Yorktown Heights, NY United States  
This is a first-rate absinthe, a vast improvement over the original Emile, which was a little thin and uninspired. This is richly herbal, with butterscotch overtones.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
An amazing value: Tasty & Attractive February 2, 2009
Reviewer: Ken Hallenius from Portland, OR United States  
This has become my go-to absinthe as far as a daily drinker. The color is light but discernibly green, the aroma is room-fillingly tangy, and the flavor is multi-layered: anise-forward at the start, wormwood in the middle, spices at the end, with a finish that keeps me coming back for more. I have purchased this twice already, with a third purchase imminent, because I feel this one would do well with some more bottle age. Given the price, in the low-middle of the pack, this is a knockout among its peers!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Decent stuff, but I was hardly overwhelmed February 2, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I'm not sure I really have anything bad to say about this absinthe.  There was one note in there that was a bit distracting perhaps, but not what I'd call bad or off-putting.  It was just sort of... mediocre.

The color was too pale, but the aromas did release nicely during louche.  Not bad at all, but I won't be buying more.  

Edit:  I just saw somebody in a popular absinthe forum describe an "overripe banana" note, and that is EXACTLY the distraction I was talking about after looking for it.  I also get the impression that this absinthe is "young", or in other words wasn't aged enough before bottling.

Was this review helpful to you?