Return to Artemisia-Bugnon Distillery "La Clandestine" Absinthe Superieure (750ml)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Absinthe April 10, 2012
Reviewer: Dilpreet Singh from DES MOINES, IA United States  
great absinthe, and has very good taste

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good stuff May 22, 2011
Reviewer: D. Christian from Manchester, NH United States  
A great absinthe.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
my first blanche April 3, 2011
Reviewer: D.Ramos from Atwater, CA United States  
A taste light absinthe I agree with others that it has a warm creamy mouth feel but surprisingly to my palate an almost butter popcorn flavor. I recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Nice! June 30, 2009
Reviewer: Mattm3 from Orchard Park, NY United States  
Creamy with a very nice herbal profile.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
A good starter March 21, 2009
Reviewer: Akurei from walnut creek, CA United States  
I ordered this for my wife who was a new comer to absinthe.  It is a bit lighter than the rest, allowing it to be more subtle than the green versions.  

It is very tasty too.  Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
Better than Kubler, however... January 29, 2009
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
There is more depth to this La Bleue than there is in Kubler.  There is a subtle floral bouquet in there and some citrus notes.  The wormwood is also more detectable.  Still, it doesn't approach the depth in a good verte, and for this price... no thank you.  

I gave the Kubler a bonus point for it's value.  This product loses one.  If it was priced similarly to Kubler, it scores a "4".

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
The current measuring stick of la bleue absinthes! December 25, 2008
Reviewer: Benjamin Lopez from The Absinthe Review Network  
Exceptional floral bouquet, plenty of lively fennel, a tour de force of delicate, but masterfully balanced character.

The full review, including detailed scoring can be found at The Absinthe Review Network website.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Top shelf blanche November 8, 2008
Reviewer: Wilson Phillips from Natchez, MS United States  
This is one of the finest blanches on the market. You can't go wrong with it. Tasty! I for one, am thrilled to be able to purchase it stateside. The absinthe world is getting better thanks to DrinkUpNY. Keep up the great work.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
La Clandestine November 5, 2008
Reviewer: lucy from Milford, CT United States  
This brand is one of my all time favorites. I love the La Bleues, ( or blanche as they are also referred to) as I think they are smoother and less herbal than a lot of the vertes I have tried. I am thrilled to have such a quality absinthe available to the u.s. market. This is an excellent absinthe!

Was this review helpful to you?

  9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Blanche September 25, 2008
Reviewer: Green Baron from Seattle, WA United States  
Clandestine is a very good example of a traditional Swiss blanche (white) absinthe.

Perfectly clear neat, and a nice louche, though it might seem a bit quick for those used to only verte absinthes.  Once louched at about 3 parts water to 1 part absinthe, you can really see nice depth and highlights.

In the aroma, the trinity of anise, fennel, and wormwood comes through nicely, with auxiliary herbs and chamomile notes in the background.

Smooth, yet flavorful, this is one of the best blanches commercially available in Europe, and it's great to see it becoming available in the U.S!

Was this review helpful to you?